You are viewing sfawardswatch

May 2012   01 02 03 04 05 06 07 08 09 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31

May 27th, 2010

This year’s Grand Prix de l’Imaginaire ceremony appears to have taken place at the Etonnants Voyageurs festival last weekend. There are some category additions. The winners, as reported by Noosfere, are as follows:

  • French language novel: Chien du heaume (Dog of ?), Justine Niogret (Mnémos)
  • Translated novel: Dans les limbes (In Limbo), Jack O’Connell (Rivages)
  • French language short fiction: “Les Trois livres qu’Absalon Nathan n’écrira jamais” (“The three books that Absalon Nathan Will Never Write”), Léo Henry (Retour sur l’horizon, Denoël)
  • Translated short fiction (tie): “Exhalaison” (“Exhalation”), Ted Chiang (Bifrost 56) and Océanique (Oceanic) (collection), Greg Egan (Le Bélial’)
  • French Language YA: Eté mutant (Mutant summer), Victor Dixen (Gawsewitch)
  • Translated YA: Le Livre des choses perdues (The Book of Lost Things), John Connolly (L’Archipel)
  • Prix Jacques Chambon (for Translation): Sylvie Miller for Interférences (Interferences), Yoss (Rivière Blanche)
  • Prix Wojtek Siudmak (for Art): Alain Brion for the covers of Chute (Fall) & Rédemption (Redemption) by Brandon Sanderson (Orbit)
  • Bande Dessinée (Comics): Black Summer, Warren Ellis and Juan José Ryp (Milady)
  • Manga: Ikigami : Préavis de mort tomes 1 à 4 (Death Note Vols 1-4), Motorô Mase (Kazé Manga / Asuka)
  • Non-Fiction: L’Encyclopédie de la Fantasy (The Encyclopedia of Fantasy), Jacques Baudou (Fetjaine)
  • Prix spécial (Special Prize): Jean-Marc Lofficier and Brian Stableford for their work translating and promoting French Science Ficion through Black Coat Press

The list on Noosfere also includes the runners up.

Corrections to our dodgy translations are, as always, very welcome.

Originally published at Science Fiction Awards Watch. Please leave any comments there.

Compton Crook Award Winner

Posted on 2010.05.27 at 14:38
Tags: ,

The Compton Crook Award is presented by the Baltimore Science Fiction Society to the best debut science fiction, fantasy or horror novel of the year. It is perhaps no surprise this year the winner is a book that already has a Nebula win to its name: The Windup Girl by Paulo Bacigalupi (Night Shade).

The award plaque and a check for $1,000 will be presented at Balticon tomorrow night. Paolo had better hurry as he’s giving a reading at Borderlands Books in San Francisco tonight. If you are in the Bay Area do pop along: there may be celebrations.

Originally published at Science Fiction Awards Watch. Please leave any comments there.

Previous Day  Next Day